Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

No thought days

with 3 comments

As I lay in bed last night listening to the wind in the trees, the leaves doing a frenzied dance with epic stamina (they’d been at it for a few days), I stopped thinking.  I stop thinking regularly, some folk call it meditation.  I used to believe that meditation had to have a purpose and that it was difficult to do because I’m not great at relaxing, but the more I’ve stopped thinking, the easier it gets to define what works for me.  If it’s meditation, great, if it’s just no thought, great!

I need that time just to let go, to stop things becoming overwhelming.  It doesn’t of course mean that the situation changes while I’m not thinking about it, or does it?

Situations are just that, they aren’t the things which create the stress and fear in our lives.  It’s our feelings, our thoughts, our emotions which are all tied up in what we understand the situation to be saying to us.  The experience we then have is our story around the problem.

While I lie in a place of ‘no thought’, I’m suspended.  Time too is suspended.  The situation is still going on, but it doesn’t bother me in a place of ‘no thought’.

One day I got to realising after clocking up so many no-thought airmiles, that actually I didn’t need to go there in order to be there.   I could just be there all the time.

If I can suspend time and a situation by not thinking about it when I chose to deliberately, then that was also an option while I went about the rest of my daily chores and life.  Imagine how wonderful that is!

Now this could get irresponsible because although you can suspend time and problems from your thoughts, there are  things which you might have to change to accommodate the issue and that there are things for which you are responsible and you must take action.

You need to know what it is you want to achieve, what outcome you are looking at.  You need a focus and a goal – one which you know is determined by you and is not reliant on others.  This might even be as simple as ‘I want to feel happy, or at peace’.  So the difference lies by taking stock of what you can do, and doing it.

When you know that you’ve taken the steps required by you, and some of them might be massive pieces of action, you have done what you can.  The action required isn’t always done in one fell swoop, but starting doing one thing at a time will make a difference.

Continually ruminating and cogitating over what has happened, where you are and how unfair it all is will hold you stuck.   The no-thought helps to stop that process and gives you the added oomph to start taking the steps which will pull you through.

Having someone to help you move beyond what appears to be the problem and help you get to no-thought is the first step you might consider.

Written by Jackie Walker

July 7, 2010 at 11:07 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Penny Waite, jane young and jackiewalker. jackiewalker said: If you didn't think about your problem, and just acted on your goal, wouldn't that help? Blog – No thought days: http://wp.me/pzSxs-7o [...]

  2. No-thoughts sounds very fascinating,cause can someone just to be thinking nothing? Do not we always have something going on our minds, anyway when i am thinking your role in meditating&listener, it makes point, but have to have a gift for that as you have my dear friend from Scotland:)i cant write so meaningful text like you do,only my mind is working all the time lol:)

    FinnishWinkler

    July 7, 2010 at 11:53 am

    • Thank you Matti. You know if you’re singing, you’re not thinking right? Well we can stop thinking in other ways too – when out running, any sport which we get into the flow of. And we can do this by practising just being aware of our breath, of allowing thoughts to float in and out, but not to give them the attention they need to survive. Like children, with no attention, the bad behaviour very often stops!!

      Jackie Walker

      July 7, 2010 at 12:28 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

