Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

Off Piste or Piste Off?

with 8 comments

I don’t know if you ski or not? I don’t anymore after a rather dramatic exit from the ski slopes in the year dot when I took out 3 ligaments in my right knee and although they were replaced twice in one year, that kind of piste is not one I venture onto any longer!

But even if you don’t ski, you’re sure to be able to bring up images of fresh snow and have feelings of total pleasure at being the first to cut a path across the virgin landscape knowing that you’re marking the ground with your own footsteps, going where no man has gone before.

Or perhaps you’d be like my daughters who hate anyone to spoil the fresh snow, they want to preserve it for posterity, or at least until it melts.  They like the pristine, the unclaimed, the unsullied.

What I wanted to talk about was how may clients I get who have suddenly realised that they’ve been busy making sure that they are doing the right thing by everyone else, that they’ve done very little for themselves.

In essence they’ve stayed on piste all their lives, doing what they need to do to keep everyone else happy, making sure that they follow the footsteps laid out, they don’t make any new marks.  The trouble with this is that eventually they get piste off and begin to feel like a common dogsbody, a door mat and they start to get angry.

A little problem here because they don’t know how to express themselves and they don’t know what will happen if they stop being ‘nice’.  Yes that’s what they’re scared of that some folk will not think that they’re nice.  They’re scared of being disliked if they stop doing everything for everybody.  So, they continue to be nice, they continue to let others take advantage of their ‘gentle giving’ nature and inside they are getting frustrated, piste off and their heart is no longer in their giving.

I read this somewhere but I can’t find it to quote it properly, so this was the essence -

‘I’d rather be disliked for being me than liked for being someone else’

If you were really you and could be absolutely guaranteed that you would be liked for yourself and not the person you think you ‘should’ be, who would you be?  What would you stop or start?

Written by Jackie Walker

July 9, 2010 at 4:35 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jackiewalker, jackiewalker. jackiewalker said: Off Piste or Piste Off?: http://wp.me/pzSxs-7E [...]

  2. Try these: “Forget about likes and dislikes. They are of no consequence. Just do what must be done. This may not be happiness but it is greatness.”
    and We control fifty percent of a relationship. We influence one hundred percent of it.”
    Good luck

    duke1959

    July 9, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    • Interesting, I don’t believe either percentage is a given and that’s where many of the issues arise. And I like the sentiments nonetheless!

      Jackie Walker

      July 9, 2010 at 10:38 pm

  3. I like this blog. I like it alot.
    Arrow to the heart message but worryingly I think too many people will read, understand….. For a moment want to change…… Reality or real life will kick in and nothing will change.

    I recall with great clarity the day Penny Power said to me ” Sally. Being YOU is ENOUGH” timing was key in this message …… But it stuck a chord that was to change fundamentally the path of life on so many subliminal levels.

    If being me was enough, then actally being me was ok… That means …… Whoaaa deep breath…. I am ok????? It’s ok to put me first mow and then? It’s ok to say no?? Itsok to say it not ok??????

    It’s ok to go off piste??

    It’s a BRAVE thing to do ( blimy have you seen the potential drops and drops??) it takes a lot of guts to go of piste especially if no one is holding your hand…….

    But the rush of adrenaline kicks in and suddenly you feel alive again …… Whoo Hoooo I am free with the wind rushing throughmy hair and suddenly OMG I am loving life……

    …… Of piste is good……I sm getting better at it…. More confident shall we say……

    Sally

    July 9, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    • Being you is enough … Will The Real You courses starting soon.

      Thanks Sally (I know you’ve sent this from your phone and we all excuse your typos!!)

      Jackie Walker

      July 9, 2010 at 10:40 pm

      • Yup, sent from phone! Thanks for excusing the typo’s!! I wish someone would create an iphone spell check app!!! Sx

        Sally

        July 10, 2010 at 12:31 pm

  4. I love that quote!

    Being ourselves is soo soo important and a theme that I keep coming across. I think I’m going to make it a main theme for my blog – it’s a topic that is so vital, even (especially?) in business. Society has done a great job of teaching us to “fit in” to “be professional” to “follow the beaten path” and essentially to try and be everyone BUT ourselves. I really admire people who say no way to normal and truly embrace their wonderful uniqueness and share it with the rest of us. :)

    Jess Webb

    July 13, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    • Hi Jess, thank you so much for commenting.

      Normal is hugely subjective and tends to be ‘average’. Average, and therefore normal, depends on the different ends of the spectrum – so when more people are prepared to question their beliefs, normal the average will automatically move!! The answer is in curiosity and owning what makes us piste off!

      Jackie Walker

      July 14, 2010 at 3:30 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

