Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

I Can

with 2 comments

3 years ago I wrote this poem for my Dad, and then read it at his funeral – my first public speaking experience.  Things weren’t always great between us, but there’s always time to understand, grow and make up when you come from a place of grace and forgiveness.  I’d made mistakes and so did he.

Heavenly loveMy Dad was dying,
I watched him crying –
‘what was it worth
– my time on earth?’

‘I’ll tell you’ I said
waiting for a nod from his head,
‘your love and respect,
your lack of regret.

Many will say
In the cold light of day
I loved that great man
Who taught me ‘I can’

Compassion and laughter
Were things that did matter
To a life once led
Outside the confines of bed

For all the odd grumbles
And occasional tumbles
You always stood true
To your family and crew

As one voice we unite
To support your big fight
Move on with our blessing
And stop your distressing

This time is for you
One day we’ll come too
For now our dear man
We’ll remember ‘I can’

Jackie Roberts, 2006

Parents are extraordinary people, they aren’t given a handbook they can only do the best they can.  They are only human and they have their own histories to contend with.  Bestowing  parents with an expectation beyond being human is a mistake we often make .

Becoming a parent myself and not getting things right has given me the latitude, grace and forgiveness needed to not only unconditionally accept my own parents but also to love the differences which make them so very special – I’m glad I chose to be their daughter!  With no-one else would I have had the possibilities and lessons I’ve had from them.

What have you learned from this post?

Written by Jackie Walker

July 18, 2009 at 10:49 pm

Posted in Experience, Forgiveness

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there – I really love what you’re doing here, Jackie…feels nice, transparent, thoughtful, insightful, and very, very real

    timhodgson

    July 20, 2009 at 12:27 pm

  2. Thanks Tim, it’s taken a while to get here, and I’ve already felt vulnerable, yet isn’t that what it’s all about!

    Jackie Walker

    July 20, 2009 at 3:20 pm


Leave a Reply

