Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

What could a driving instructor help you with?

with 2 comments

I was driving home the other day and met an L plated learner driver coming towards me, as we drew closer, I could see the young lad’s level of intent concentration to stay on his side of the unmarked narrow country road.

My memory was sparked of my own driving lessons when I was 17.  I was speaking to my sister about it and she reminded me that in fact we were very lucky as we’d been driving for years around the fields, parallel parking from age 12 against hay bales.  Our driving instructor was there to iron out the bad habits we’d already formed and introduce us to real traffic.

vehiclevibesbadge-300x300Learning not to cross our hands on the steering wheel, not to cut corners to save the rubber on the tyres, remembering to indicate, not double d clutching, and being aware of road users was an eye opener!

My first driving lesson was in Edinburgh, I was taken along Princes Street at 5pm – there were buses and cars everywhere, then we headed up Lothian Road and I had to do a hill start – there was very little I could find similar to driving in the hayfield!

Anyway of course the point here isn’t really about driving is it … it’s about the bad habits we pick up when we’re not taught how to do things by those who are trained to teach!   There was an article in the Daily Mail which stated that parents often teach their offspring their own bad driving habits.  I would venture that as children, we pick up more than our parents driving habits!

Not only do we connect to our parents bad habits, but those of accepted societal norms, those of our peers, our work colleagues, our friends and religious habits too.

Very rarely do we take the opportunity to stop and question what we are doing and whether it serves us well or not.

You too might find that you could improve more than your driving if you asked for a guide trained to iron out lifes little wrinkles.

Written by Jackie Walker

August 5, 2009 at 5:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like your thinking, I also think that as a teacher myself, you’d be surprised at the ‘habits’ we unintetionally teach the children in our classes.
    Food for thought.
    Thanks

    Charlie

    August 10, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    • Hey Charlie, thank you .. we teach what we know and I’m sure that remembering our own fallibility, and our willingness to keep growing and learning means that humility plays a great part in what we can pass on. Teaching our children to have curiosity and an enquiring mind is perhaps the biggest gift we can give.

      Jackie Walker

      August 10, 2009 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

