Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

The Fool

with 7 comments

Part 1 of my exploration into things Tarot and relationships – relationships in whatever guise they appear as I work through this.

The FoolThe Fool feels like a wonderful card to me.  As I sat and studied it, some words/meanings came to me, let me share them:

  • derision, unpreparedness
  • envied, carefree
  • devil may care, very present
  • flamboyant, individual, light, determined, open, welcoming, trust

Last night as I took my girls back to their father’s, I realised that today (tomorrow then) was going to be a very important day to me.  I was going public with a journey.

As I woke up, I heard the rain falling, the copper beech dripped fat droplets, the sky was grey, the air was light, I felt rested.

The only fixture in my diary after so many weeks of holiday was one client at 10am.  I was calm, relaxed and looking forward to a day to catch up with emails and admin.  I was ready to prepare a workshop I’d mooted back in July.

I’m very used to taking life as it comes, with an ability to whistle as I work and this summer has taught me to take much more time to being than doing.  I reckon The Fool, takes a lot of time to being – he looks like he saunters with a bit of a spring in his step, wandering along a path knowing that whatever comes up he can handle it.  He travels light, he has the love of his dog, he has a self assured way about him.

Flexibility is enormously important to me, how do you feel about being flexible?  How do you feel about wandering with an aim, but not necessarily an outcome in mind?

At 9.54am I had a phone call.  This was no ordinary phone call, this was an M&S phone call (UK readers will understand that).  I was offered an opportunity which hadn’t even been on my radar, I couldn’t have seen it coming even if I’d tried!

I whistled a bit louder then, and carried on with my day, taking in my stride the news.

As The Fool meets relationships head on, I wonder how often we can meet someone new and keep strong to ourselves while at the same time embracing and encompassing someone else into our lives?  There are times when we might have to make some tweaks, some adjustments, but how often do people stop in their tracks when someone or something new comes into their lives?

I believe in my understanding of The Fool that this card represents an individuality which probably means you have to strike out and follow your own truths.  I believe that by doing so, you will meet and get opportunities which otherwise wouldn’t be open to you.  The Fool is a bit of a leader but doesn’t want to be seen as such – and yes, I can see the similarities!

Today The Fool has represented a culmination of my last 5 years of believing in what I do, persevering along my path and not allowing myself to be drawn back to live a life I don’t enjoy in order to escape what had become the toughest time in my life.

Written by Jackie Walker

August 17, 2009 at 7:08 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think it’s any coincidence that you received this phone call with your new opportunity on the same day that you had designated for starting your journey, Jackie. A fortuitous start indeed!

    The Fool is such an interesting card – I’ve just looked out some of my old notes on the major arcana & thought you might be interested in what I had jotted down: unknowing risk-taker, inexperience, innocence, heedless to danger, one hand supports, the other carries, fertility, growth, nature, traveling light.

    In an interesting side note, before coming across your post I was upstairs sorting through some old notebooks & tore out my notes on the tarot cards including these ones on the fool. I then went to the shops & turned on my ipod to listen to Caroline Myss’ The Language of Archetypes, and she was talking about the fool. Then I came home to find your post about… the fool!
    The universe truly does work in surprising ways, does it not?
    Amy
    xx

    amypalko

    August 17, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    • Thanks Amy, I love this idea of sharing our notes and am so glad you’re up for it. More musings on The Fool coming later!

      Unknowing risk taker caught my attention btw which draws me back to not knowing what we don’t know and trust.

      I remember learning that if we retain the thought of everyone being innocent, ie without judgement, we would see everything in a much different light. If we take things from the premise that everyone is doing the best they can with what they know and what they have, then they are innocent of whatever we have deemed them to be guilty.

      Jackie Walker

      August 18, 2009 at 9:45 am

  2. It never fails to amaze me how your posts, phone calls, emails always seem to be so totally in tune with me and whatever is going on my life.

    xx

    Deborah Meredith

    August 17, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    • Amazing isn’t it!!! Hope the post later today hits the spot for you too x

      Jackie Walker

      August 18, 2009 at 9:47 am

  3. Susan Jeffers is a great advocate of believing that whatever happens ‘you can handle it’ and it is a great attitude to have. If we spent less time worrying about how we would handle things we would probably achieve more.

    I love the idea of ‘not knowing what we don’t know and trusting’ but it can be scary. If we can trust that ‘it will all happen perfectly’ the path becomes interesting and exciting.

    We have so much ‘unlearning’ to do in order to free ourselves.

    Good luck on your journey Jackie – I’m really looking forward to travelling with you.

    Annie

    August 19, 2009 at 2:49 am

    • Unlearning is a great word – or maybe it could be remembering what it was like just before we thought we had to know, going back and starting again – free of that thought and the subsequent feelings attached to it.

      – Just a thought!

      Jackie Walker

      August 19, 2009 at 10:26 am

  4. […] you know from my first writing of The Fool I received some awesome news that day and the opportunity is getting bigger and bigger day by […]


Leave a Reply

