Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

Sensual Living

with 5 comments




Once up-on a rock….

Originally uploaded by Milena T.

I’ve just drunk a cup of coffee, at the very end of which, because it tasted soooooo good, I had some coffee grains in my mouth – they were very soft and gentle. It reminded me of a long weekend I had in Cyprus in January and drinking the very sweet coffee there but without the sugar.

I got to wondering if we employ different senses at different times of the year dependant on temperature and who we are with. The female in the picture can feel the water and the air on her bare skin – this isn’t possible to really enjoy in the cold in winter. We have to find otherways to satisfy our sensuality.

Today my tongue and gustatory sense have been so alive and kicking – I treated myself to scallops for dinner. Scallops take the biscuit for me in terms of sensual. I’ve also had the most melt in my mouth dark chocolate, smooth and melting, oozing with depth and richness.

I’m half watching Strictly Come Dancing, gazing in awe at the grace and wishing I had the ability to be so controlled and yet vulnerable. Instead I’m in jeans, sweatshirts and boots!

To get back to temperature and being alone, I’ve found ways to satisfy my kinesthetic sense. It’s not hugely warm and with no central heating, I’ve found pleasure in thermal tops – soft, silky and a treat to my skin. In the summer, I would take time to apply moisturiser, but in an unheated, tiled bathroom that’s purgatory!

It’s not often that I think about my senses and I wonder how often others shut off simple yet powerful markers – such a shame as the elegance and feedback can make us feel so good –

We don’t have to take our clothes off or be with someone to feel sensual.

Written by Jackie Walker

November 21, 2009 at 9:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Getting in touch with our senses can be such fun, can’t it, Jackie? For me, winter time is a particularly sensual part of the year – the soft feel of cashmere and velvet, the smoky scent and taste of malt whisky, the sight of the stars twinkling on a frosty night… so special 🙂
    Amy
    xx

    amypalko

    November 21, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    • Absolutely Amy .. I’m not sure why it’s suddenly hit me more than usual, but maybe it’s part of the slowing down and being in the moment and really appreciating everything. Jx

      Jackie Walker

      November 21, 2009 at 9:46 pm

  2. Thanks for the reminder Jackie. In fact thanks also for the comment about being in the moment and how that helps to get in touch with our senses!

    Chris Owen

    November 21, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    • Lovely to have your comment Chris, thank you. It’s so easy to forget amidst the haste of life – or from The Desiderata –

      Go placidly amid the noise and the haste,
      and remember what peace there may be in silence.
      http://www.fleurdelis.com/desiderata.htm

      Jackie Walker

      November 21, 2009 at 10:33 pm

  3. Enjoyed your piece-very atmospheric and the piccie goes well too.Love The desiderata. I used to have it on my wall to remind me of connecting with inner peace.

    Gill

    November 22, 2009 at 4:42 pm


Leave a Reply

