Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

Pride isn’t Ego but Love

with 7 comments

I wonder how often I’ve shut love off thinking it was something else.

It came as a huge shock that my love was hammering at my chest and I was calling it pride.

Pride can be an ego based emotion which I wasn’t sure about.  Love however knows no such delusion.

What if when people say things like ‘I’m not proud of what I’ve done’ they mean I’m not in love with what I’ve done.

What if it’s ok to have pride in what we do, what we achieve and pride in our families.  Is that not love.

That’s it no more hiding pride for me – it’s pure love and gratitude.

Written by Jackie Walker

November 22, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm Jackie VERY thought-provoking! As someone who had any positive pride excised whenever I had the temerity to display it, I have a real problem with the role of pride. I can’t feel proud of achievements toot my own horn or anything like that. I just end up believing that i’ll fall because of my pride!

    Chris Owen (@Chris_PinkApple)

    November 23, 2009 at 4:35 am

    • Ah yes Chris, it’s a very common problem isn’t it! I remember getting into trouble in the past when I commented on something good I’d made/done and being told ‘blowing your own trumpet’ – well heck, if no-one else is going to do it, then I might as well!!

      I believe there’s a difference between pride and arrogance or boasting. Bursting with pride for example – no-one would expect to take a tumble after that, surely? I just think that the semantics aren’t properly explained at the outset.

      Jackie Walker

      November 23, 2009 at 2:48 pm

  2. What a great question & why it’s a good idea to re-mind yourself. By reconnecting with your heart & gut centres, you get a much better “sense” of what you are feeling, leaving your “brain” free for pure thought & able to receive.

    Steiner’s How to Connect with the Higher Worlds is a good read on this subject ..

    Tom Evans

    November 23, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    • Re-minding is such a wonderful tool, I’m so glad you taught me how to do it – if anyone else wants to find out – check out Tom’s website – http://www.thebookwright.com

      Jackie Walker

      November 25, 2009 at 7:56 am

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Vena Ramphal, Jackie Walker. Jackie Walker said: What if Pride isn't Ego but Love – http://bit.ly/51vpHE […]

  4. I think it depends on your definition of pride. Caroline Myss states in her book “Defy gravity” that pride is the shadow passion that causes most problems for us all. The grace counterpart is reverence and I like to think of things like that now. Having reverence for myself and my life and all the folks I meet who are part of it. I agree with your sentiments though so perhaps it just depends on your definition of pride (sounds like reverence to me) Gill x

    Gill

    November 25, 2009 at 1:59 am

    • Hi Gill yes each word we use has a semantic that is individual. Many of the definitions come from accepting what is told to us.

      I’m exploring things for myself and that’s when I realised that perhaps pride doesn’t need to have a negative connotation. Calling it reverence is cool too, though I’m not sure it works for me … at the moment!

      It’s a bit like the word sin – from its Greek origin it just means not doing your best. I believe that too to be a huge leap of understanding and a lot less onerous to handle than many religions would have us think.

      Jackie Walker

      November 25, 2009 at 8:04 am


Leave a Reply

