Jackie Walker

Creating a learning space for me, for you and for them

Do Not Rely On Sat Nav

with 6 comments




Sat Nav A525 – Minera

Originally uploaded by Mr Marples

I’m staying in a place which I’m not accustomed to yet – I’ve got the hang of where I am, it’s comfortable and I know how to survive. I can find the shops and put fuel in the car.

I was asked to drive to Toulouse last night to collect Mick and Debbie, their sat nav was all set up for the airport a long time ago – all I had to do was switch it on and it would get me there. Easy peasy.

It wouldn’t switch on – it’d run out of battery and didn’t seem to accept the charge which was coming to it through the charger.

Sitting in the driveway, I had no idea where the motorway was. Oops!

Relying on something or someone else can mean that you stop thinking for yourself. You stop working out solutions and start to blame others or things for your inability to problem solve.

I remembered that I’d seen signs for Toulouse earlier in the day – it would mean a longer trip, but that was irrelevant, the longer trip would head me where I was intending to go.

As I cruised along the motorway, I had to trust that there would be signs to show me when my next turn should be. Amazingly, I arrived at the airport with 10 minutes to spare.

If at first your way is blocked, try another route, know where you’re headed and know that the signs will appear when you need them.

Written by Jackie Walker

November 26, 2009 at 9:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great thought Jackie, you are brilliant at conjuring up metaphors from everyday life. Keep it up!

    John Standaloft

    November 26, 2009 at 11:01 am

    • Thank you John, it just flows!

      Jackie Walker

      November 26, 2009 at 11:58 am

  2. Jackie, I love that!
    I know someone who totally lost Toulouse airport, took her hours to get there. She is a wonderful woman, and interestingly, one who has been really ‘lost’ in her life in recent years. I guess she just wasn’t reading the signs!
    x

    Jan Scott Nelson

    November 26, 2009 at 11:16 am

    • Hehehe – maybe no surprise there then right enough! x

      Jackie Walker

      November 26, 2009 at 11:59 am

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jackie Walker, Jan Scott Nelson. Jan Scott Nelson said: This is so simple, yet brilliant: Don't rely on SatNav http://bit.ly/53Xl2z from @jackiewalker […]

  4. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by jackiewalker: Do Not Rely on Sat Nav – http://bit.ly/7dLUst

    uberVU - social comments

    November 26, 2009 at 4:49 pm


Leave a Reply

